School Logo

Laleham Gap School

Learn Grow Succeed

Google Translate
Google Search

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage

Pupils in Year Reception follow a curriculum based on the Early Years Foundation Stage which includes seven areas of learning and development. These include three prime areas: 

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development and
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

and the following four specific areas through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design


Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and a range of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think and relate to others.